Ah, spring. It’s a beautiful season, and one of my favorites. But regardless of the time of year, we still need to ground ourselves. One of the ways we can do this is through mindfulness, using our very own bodies and our own breath to inhale courage, exhale love: imbue yourself with good vibrations at any time.

How to Inhale Courage, and Exhale Love

This is an exercise that you can do at any time, so please be sure to bookmark this page (or print / save it!) to have around whenever you need.

Find a comfortable seated position, and gently close your eyes. Place your hands in your lap, if that feels restful to you.

Now, take a moment to relax your body. Allow your shoulders to drop, remove your tongue from the roof of your mouth, unclench your jaw, and straighten your spine as much as is comfortable.

Inhale a slow, steady breath through your nose, allowing the air to fill your lungs. Expand your belly as you breathe in.

Forcefully exhale this breath through your mouth, and vocalize a loud ‘hah!’ as you do so. This will help release tensions that you may have, as well as help clear your throat chakra.
Do this as many times as you need until you have a loud ‘hah’, instead of a breathy one.

Next, we’re going to visualize breathing in courage. If it helps, assign courage a color. Now bring that color into your lungs and into your body, breathing in through your nose.

On the exhale, visualize exhaling love. You’re sending out love from your spirit and your body, increasing the vibrations of love as far as they can go.

Do this as many times as feels comfortable, then gently bring your awareness back to how your body feels.

Once you feel fully grounded, gently open your eyes. It’s time to yawn, stretch, sigh, and carry on about your day!

Why it’s important to imbue yourself with Good Vibrations

I value the work of a man called Dr. David Hawkins. One of the many important works that he put out is called the Map of Consciousness, which details 17 stages of consciousness. This map also spells out the energy calibration values of each stage. For a complete trio of books to help understand this concept, you can also check out his books Power versus Force and Transcending the Levels of Consciousness: The Stairway to Enlightenment.

But as a short lesson, Dr. Hawkins states that each of the 17 stages vibrate on a different level, with the maximum level being 2000.

Here are the stages, as detailed out by this blog:

Shame (1-20)
Someone at this level feels humiliated, has low self esteem and is paranoid. People vibrating in this level for prolonged periods become serial killers, rapists, and moral extremists.

Guilt (30)
Feelings of blame and remorse dominate here. This level cultivates destruction.

Apathy (50)
A state of despair and helplessness. Someone here is needy and dependent on others for help, such as the homeless, the poor, the aged population. The prevailing view is one of hopelessness.

Grief (75)
Feelings of regret, sadness and loss are abound here. Many people vibrate at this level in times of loss. Grief is a higher level than apathy, because one starts feeling more energy at this level, albeit of sadness and loss.

Fear (100)
Energy at this level is oriented in anxiety. Common situations of fear at play would be fear of rejection, fear of failure, fear of uncertainty, fear of challenges, fear of aging, fear of death, fear of loss, fear of strangers.

Desire (125)
At the level of desire, we are pretty energetic. We pursue ambitions, money, etc. etc. Desire also makes us addicted to things. The life view is disappointing, which ensues when one cannot obtain what one desires.

Anger (150)
The emotion at this level is hate. Anger expresses itself as resentment, frustration and revenge.

Pride (175)
People form pride based on possessions and external conditions. It is vulnerable because such conditions can be removed at any point in time. Pride results in denial and arrogance. The life view here is demanding.

Courage (200)
The turning point: this is the separation point between force and real power. At courage one sees the world as exciting and filled with possibilities. It marks the start of active pursuit of growth – where there exists a gap, the person will act to fill it. The life view is feasible – anything is manageable since the person is able to harness power to deal with situations in life.

Neutrality (250)
The emotion at this level is trust and safety. Here, people are non-judgmental, objective and able to see things as they truly are. They are not attached to possessions, situations, outcomes and can roll with the punches in life. If they are not able to get something, they are equally happy settling for something else.

Willingness (310)
At willingness, the individual is open to do anything and everything – he/she is not bounded by others’ judgments or by limitations. The life-view is hopefulness. At this level you have people who perform extremely well in their careers in corporations, start-ups. The question then comes as to whether they are investing their energy in the best way.

Acceptance (350)
Here, we finally realize that we are the creators and source of our life, as opposed to having relegated some part of it to someone else or a different entity. We are aware of the social constructs present in life, able to discern against (limiting) beliefs, viewpoints and conditioning and able to consciously craft life above and beyond all these social constructs.

Reason (400)
The emotion is understanding and rationality. One seeks out huge amounts of information and analyzes it to infinitesimal detail before reaching conclusions. Reason falls into the trap of over-intellectualization, leading to the process of abstraction or preoccupation with data. The life view is meaningful.

Love (500)
This represents unconditional love – love that is pure, unfaltering, unwavering, not subjected to any external conditions. The life-view is benign. Hawkins claims only 0.4% of the population (1 in every 250 people) ever reaches this level.

Joy (540)
The dominant emotion is serenity and compassion. This is the inner joy that arises from every moment of existence rather than from an external source. The life view is completeness. Near death experiences have the effect of temporarily bumping people into this level.

Peace (600)
The emotion is bliss. At this level, there is no longer any distinction between the observer and the subject. This level is only attained by 1 out of 10 million people.

Enlightenment (700-1000)
The emotion is inexpressible. This is the pinnacle of the evolution of consciousness of mankind. The greatest people of history have attained this level, such as Krishna, Buddha, Jesus, Mother Theresa.

Where do you fall on the scale? Let me know in the comments below!

Love all around, above, below, to the left and to the right, before you and behind you,

If you’re struggling with the emotional process of grief...

I want to share a free gift with you that can help you recognize the physical, cognitive and emotional reactions you may be experiencing. You’ll also take away prompts to use daily along your journey.

Click the button below to get started!